Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Latest News provides the most current information posted by the City related to events and activities.  It includes notices, press releases, tips, reminders and posts for highlighting time sensitive news (

For additional public information, please access the following:

SB 649 "Small Cell" Equipment June 29, 2017 Update

Post Date:06/29/2017 3:37 PM


On June 28, 2017, the Assembly Local Government Committee voted to approve SB 649 (Hueso) and it will be heard next by the Assembly Communications and Conveyance Committee. A hearing date and time has yet to be announced.

SB 649 allows small cell antennas on public pole structures to be as large as six cubic feet, and its associated equipment (i.e. power supply, etc) as large as 21 cubic feet on the pole structure itself. The proposal excludes the following ancillary equipment from all of the size limitations mentioned above:

  • Electric meters and their pedestals;
  • Concealment elements;
  • Demarcation boxes;
  • Grounding equipment;
  • Power transfer switches; and
  • Vertical cable runs. 

Ultimately, SB 649 and its proposed amendments would unnecessarily shut out public input when a better approach would be one that encourages coordination and vision for “small cell” deployment in a way that works best for each city.

To view the City's SB 649 opposition letter, click here.

Related link(s):

To learn more about SB 649, please review the League of CA Cities' update.

Concerned residents may contact state legislators below to urge them to oppose SB 649 and its proposed amendments:

Assembly Communications and Conveyance Committee

Committee Members

Office & Contact Information

Miguel Santiago (Chair)

Contact Assembly Member Miguel Santiago

Capitol Office, Room 6027

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0053; (916) 319-2053

Jay Obernolte (Vice Chair)

Contact Assembly Member Jay Obernolte

Capitol Office, Room 4116

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0033; (916) 319-2033

Rob Bonta

Contact Assembly Member Rob Bonta

Capitol Office, Room 2148

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0018; (916) 319-2018

Sabrina Cervantes

Contact Assembly Member Sabrina Cervantes

Capitol Office, Room 5164

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0060; (916) 319-2060

Matthew Dababneh

Contact Assembly Member Matthew Dababneh

Capitol Office, Room 6031

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0045; (916) 319-2045

Eduardo Garcia

Contact Assembly Member Eduardo Garcia

Capitol Office, Room 4140

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0056; (916) 319-2056

Chris R. Holden

Contact Assembly Member Chris R. Holden

Capitol Office, Room 5132

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0041; (916) 319-2041

Tom Lackey

Contact Assembly Member Tom Lackey

Capitol Office, Room 2174

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0036; (916) 319-2036

Evan Low

Contact Assembly Member Evan Low

Capitol Office, Room 4126

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0028; (916) 319-2028

Brian Maienschein

Contact Assembly Member Brian Maienschein

Capitol Office, Room 4139

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0077; (916) 319-2077

Jim Patterson

Contact Assembly Member Jim Patterson

Capitol Office, Room 3132

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0023; (916) 319-2023

Freddie Rodriguez

Contact Assembly Member Freddie Rodriguez

Capitol Office, Room 2188

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0052; (916) 319-2052

Jim Wood

Contact Assembly Member Jim Wood

Capitol Office, Room 6005

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0002; (916) 319-2002


Return to full list >>